Utopia on the Horizon

ROARMAG.org presents: 'Utopia on the Horizon', a documentary for those who chose to struggle.In May 2011, hundreds of thousands of Greeks swarmed into Syntagma Square in Athens to protest against the firesale of their country, their labor rights and their livelihoods to corrupt domestic elites and foreign financial interests.In a matter of days, a protest camp was set up -- organized on the principles of direct democracy, leaderless self-management and mutual aid -- providing a glimpse of utopia in the midst of a devastating financial, political and social crisis. On June 28-29, during a Parliamentary vote on further austerity measures, the state finally responded with brutal force, eventually evicting the protesters from the square and crushing the radical potential of their social experiment.A year later, Leonidas Oikonomakis and Jrme Roos -- PhD researchers at the European University Institute and co-authors of the activist blog ROARMAG.org -- returned to Athens to speak to activists involved in the movement and the occupation of Syntagma Square, as well as WWII resistance hero Manolis Glezos. What follows is this dramatic portrait of a country veering on the brink of collapse; and the people who chose to struggle in order to build a new world on the ruins of the old."UTOPIA ON THE HORIZON"MADE POSSIBLE BY:Syntagma Multimedia TeamCAST:Maria KanellopoulouDimitris TimpilisNiki DimitriadiManolis GlezosDIRECTED BY:Jrme RoosLeonidas OikonomakisPRODUCED BY:Jrme RoosAndrs CornejoEDITED BY:Andrs CornejoSOUND DESIGN BY:Benjamin SchimpkeMIX AND ADDITIONAL MUSIC:OddOne StudioPRODUCTION ASSISTANT:Tamara Van Der PuttenARCHIVE FOOTAGE BY:Syntagma Multimedia TeamSCREENPLAY BY:Jrme RoosAndrs CornejoLeonidas OikonomakisTRANSLATIONS BY:Leonidas OikonomakisYorgos GoumasMaria PafiliTamara Van Der PuttenSantiago CarrinPedro NoelMUSIC BY:Maria Kanellopoulou (soprano) - 'Astron Ouranion'Maria Kanellopoulou (soprano) - 'Pace Pace Mio Dio'Nikolas Asimos - 'Den Pa Ma Nas Xrypan'SPECIAL THANKS TO:Christos StaikosManos CizekGeoff ArbourneManolis FoinikianakisNikolas LeventakisBoumba DimitrokaliFelipe MaquiGorka MoleroStavris ChatzivasiliouTamara Van Der PuttenIke Krijnen

Show Description Hide Description