Don't just bitch- sign the petition!

Conspirator

PostMon Jan 13, 2014 7:59 pm » by 99socks

I got to thinking, as much as we bitch about what is going on and how little we can do about any of it, I think our cynicism has gotten in the way of us participating in the little things that we CAN do.

One of those little things is lending a bit of support for grass-roots movements- political, social, entrepreneurs, etc.. You don't have to pour out your blood, sweat, and tears on a Habitat for Humanity project- you just have to sign a petition here or there. I have been doing this for several months now, and it's so easy you can do it with a beer in one hand and a joint in the other. :D

Disclaimer- sometimes things aren't always what they seem, so feel free to do a bit of research before signing anything and sharing with your friends.

So, go ahead and post a petition for whatever you think is important. No one has to know what you participate in and no one has to waste anyone's time by bickering or arguing about which is better than the other. If you know something is complete bullshit, go ahead and call it out- with proof or explanation, please.
Last edited by 99socks on Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Conspirator

PostMon Jan 13, 2014 8:04 pm » by 99socks

I'll go first. :flop:

Today, a bill to fast track the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) was introduced in Congress. The deal, which is being negotiated with over 600 corporations behind closed doors, is a threat to clean air, clean water, safe food and our democracy.

We have to stop fast track for the TPP. Email your Congress members now.

If passed, corporations could sue the U.S. government to overturn democratically created laws and regulations if they threaten the corporation's profits. Things like sourcing local food for schools, banning fracking in your community and labeling genetically engineered foods are at the top of the corporate hit list.