New Terror Alert System Color-Coded Alert System Discontinue

User avatar
Posts: 2225
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:33 pm
Location: Earth

PostWed Apr 20, 2011 9:06 pm » by Reinaul

New Terror Alert System
Color-Coded Alert System Discontinued

Updated: Wednesday, 20 Apr 2011, 12:07 PM EDT
Published : Wednesday, 20 Apr 2011, 7:36 AM EDT


MYFOXNY.COM - The Department of Homeland Security is putting its new National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS,) which consists of two levels of warning: 'imminent' and 'elevated,' into use within the week, said DHS Sec. Janet Napolitano during a news conference at Grand Central Terminal Wednesday.

Under the NTAS, timely information about terror threats will be made public including a concise summary of who is being targeted as well as information about actions that need to be taken.

An "Elevated Threat" will warn of a credible terrorist threat against the United States. An "Imminent Threat" will warn of a credible, specific, and impending terrorist threat against the nation.

The alerts may be sent directly to law enforcement while others will be more broadly distributed.

For alerts to the general public, visit or on Facebook at and via Twitter @NTASAlerts .

The NTAS is a more effective way to communicate information about terrorist threats to the general public, government agencies, first responders, airports and other transportation hubs, and the private sector. Threat alerts will automatically expire after a specific time period, said the DHS in a press release.

It replaces the color-coded system used following the terror attacks of 9/11.

Napolitano first announced the new system back in January, during her 'State of America's Homeland Security' address.

Over the last 90 days, federal, state, local, tribal, community and private sector partners have been making the transition to the new terror alert system ... 0110420-KC
“The important thing is not to stop questioning.”
-Albert Einstein

Be Your Own Messiah

  • Related topics
    Last post