Who or what were the people that created the Nazca lines

Initiate

PostThu Feb 11, 2010 5:29 am » by Bayonetta

And why. They are not the only geoglyphs that exist but some of the most famous. Who were these people and why did they create these lines. David Johnsons theory made sense implying that the people whom created these lines did so to mark the source of water.
http://people.umass.edu/proulx/Nasca_Lines_Project.html
Starting in 1996 I collaborated with David Johnson, a teacher, videographer and independent scholar from Poughkeepsie, New York, on a project linking the famous Nasca Lines or geoglyphs with sources of subterranean water. Dave and I met by accident in the Nasca Valley when I was doing preliminary research for my 1998 archaeological survey of the lower drainage.

In 1995, while visiting Nasca as a tourist, Johnson became aware of the scarcity of water in the region and the effect that this had on agricultural production and the quality of life. A self-taught dowser, he convinced many individuals in the town of Nasca of his ability to locate subterranean water. In 1995 he was asked to return the following year to locate additional water sources for the community. During the summer of 1996 when he returned, he began to study the ancient wells or puquios in the region and became aware of a correlation of these water resources with nearby archaeological sites.