Please rate:

Super-Supermoon is today

Super-Supermoon is today

August 10, 2014 - The full moon on August 10, 2014, will present the closest supermoon of the year (356,896 kilometers or 221,765 miles).

The year 2014 has a total of five supermoons. The first supermoon, for 2014, came on New Year’s Day, with the January 1 new moon. The second came with the new moon of January 30, 2014. The full moons of July, August and September will also be supermoons

The next supermoon – aka perigee full moon – in 2014 is on September 9 at 1:38 UTC

On June 23, 2013 the super full moon made its appearance rising above the earth at the same time that monsoons and mudslides kill 1000 people in Uttarakhand India. Add to the destruction is the flooding in Southern Alberta which displaced 75,000 people from their homes and caused the largest state of emergency in the Canadian province in over 100 years.


Coincidence? Perhaps. What we need to remember is that just because scientists say they haven’t found enough evidence to support a theory, doesn’t mean that the evidence doesn’t exist, or that the theory is forever discarded. It may be a matter of time but science still has much it cannot answer.

Full moon falls on August 10, 2014 at 18:09 UTC (1:09 p.m. CDT in the U.S.). This full moon is not only the closest and largest full moon of the year. It also presents the moon’s closest encounter with Earth for all of 2014. The moon will not be so close again until the full moon of September 28, 2015. In other words, it’s not just a supermoon. It’s the closest supermoon of 2014.

At United States’ time zones, the moon will turn full on August 10 at 2:09 p.m. EDT, 1:09 p.m. CDT, 12:09 p.m. MDT and 11:09 a.m. PDT.

We astronomers call this sort of close full moon a perigee full moon. The word perigeedescribes the moon’s closest point to Earth for a given month. Three years ago, when the closest and largest full moon fell on March 19, 2011, many used the term supermoon, which we’d never heard before. In the following years, we heard this term again to describe the year’s closest full moon on May 6, 2012, and again on June 23, 2013. Now the term supermoon is being used a lot. Last month’s full moon – on June 13, 2014 – was also a supermoon. But the August full moon is even more super! In other words, the time of full moon falls even closer to the time of perigee, the moon’s closest point to Earth. The crest of the moon’s full phase in August 10, and perigee, fall within the same hour.

Are you prepared?



Recommended




 
Visit Disclose.tv on Facebook